Thursday, April 27, 2017

Merit Badges

It was a long time ago, but I do remember that one of the major parts of being a Boy Scout was earning merit badges and displaying them on a sash anytime you were in uniform.   Things have changed a lot since then, but they are still a big deal, the qualifications for Eagle Scout include at least 21 merit badges in several specific categories.
Earn a total of 21 merit badges (10 more than required for the Life rank),
including these 13 merit badges: (a) First Aid, (b) Citizenship in the Community,
(c) Citizenship in the Nation, (d) Citizenship in the World, (e) Communication,
(f) Cooking, (g) Personal Fitness, (h) Emergency Preparedness OR Lifesaving,
(i) Environmental Science OR Sustainability, (j) Personal Management,
(k) Swimming OR Hiking OR Cycling, (l) Camping, and (m) Family Life.
You must choose only one of the merit badges listed in categories h, i, and k.
Any additional merit badge(s) earned in those categories may be counted as
one of your eight optional merit badges used to make your total of 21.
There are a gazillion more badges available now than there were back in my days in Scouting, many of them for activities that didn't exist back then - everything from animation to robotics.  
There are even a whole batch of fictitious badges displayed on line. Things like:
or my personal favorite:

No comments:

Post a Comment